

Administrator of Christmas Island Administrator of the Cocos (Keeling) Islands



Number:

A16/2024

Date:

10 July 2024

YOUR IOTHS COMMUNITY ADVISORY COMMITTEE

I am pleased to welcome the new members of the Community Advisory Committee for the Indian Ocean Territories Health Service (IOTHS), following the recent expression of interest process.

With the IOTHS aiming to deliver patient-centred high quality care to the communities of Christmas Island and the Cocos (Keeling) Islands, the Committee ensures the community has a voice in the design, delivery, measurement and evaluation of our local health systems and services.

Your representatives on the committee are:

- Tanja Schonewald (CI)
- Swee Lin (Melissa) Tung (CI)
- Regine Andersen (CI)
- Paul Maberly (CI)
- Stephanie Lai (CI)
- Ibrahim Macrae (CKI)
- Jan Young (CKI)

They will serve a 24-month term. The first meeting of the reinvigorated Committee will take place in August and we will provide an update to the broader community following this.

The Committee members are a conduit of information between the Health Service and local residents, sharing community views on priority areas of focus, emerging needs and risks.

The Committee's Terms of Reference are available on the IOT Health Service web page at https://www.infrastructure.gov.au/territories-regions-cities/territories/indian-ocean-territories/health-service

Farzian Zainal

Administrator of Christmas Island and the Cocos (Keeling) Islands