Joint Communiqué: Local Government Ministerial Forum #14 November 2024, Melbourne, Victoria

Publication date: 12 December 2024

Local Government Ministers from across Australia met in Melbourne on Friday 1 November 2024 for the Local Government Ministers' Forum (LGMF), to advance inter-governmental cooperation on issues affecting Local Government's across Australia.

The Minister for Regional Development, Local Government and Territories, the Hon Kristy McBain MP, chaired the forum which was hosted by the Victoria Minister for Local Government the Hon Melissa Horne MP.

The Chair welcomed Minister Steven Edgington, Minister Joseph Szakacs and Minister Kerry Vincent to their first Local Government Ministers Forum. The Chair acknowledged the contribution of the former Northern Territory Local Government Minister, Chanston Paech and former Tasmanian Local Government Minister, Nic Street

The Chair acknowledged Linda Scott and thanked her for the significant contribution she has made in support of the local government sector and acknowledged the new Australian Local Government Association president Cr Matt Burnett.

Ministers discussed a horizon scan of nationally significant issues relevant to local government sustainability to inform the strategic priorities of the LGMF in 2025. Ministers noted the identified priority areas of: local government asset management and depreciation; disaster preparedness and response; revenue and funding; and workforce attraction and retention, and agreed to LGMF considering potential projects for the 2025 work plan at its next meeting.

Ministers noted work progressed by jurisdictions under the LGMF work plan on the financial sustainability of local governments, including analysis of common financial data available across jurisdictions, and discussed further opportunities to draw on data in support of future policy discussions and workplan projects considered by LGMF.

Ministers noted updates on the progress of the House of Representatives Standing Committee on Regional Development, Infrastructure and Transport Inquiry into local government sustainability, and New South Wales State Development Committee Inquiry on the ability of local governments to fund infrastructure and services.

The 14th meeting of the LGMF was attended by:

- The Hon Kristy McBain MP, Minister for Local Government (Cwth)
- The Hon Melissa Horne MP, Minister for Local Government (Victoria)
- The Hon Ron Hoenig MP, Minister for Local Government (New South Wales)
- The Hon Steven (Steve) Edgington MLA, Minister for Local Government (Northern Territory)
- The Hon Joseph Szakacs MP, Minister for Local Government (South Australia)
- The Hon Kerry Vincent MLC, Minister for Local Government (Tasmania)
- The Hon Hannah Beazley MLA, Minister for Local Government (Western Australia)
- Cr Matt Burnett, President, Australian Local Government Association
- Mr Josh Hannan, on behalf of the Queensland Government (Department of Local Government, Water and Volunteers).
- Dr David Clapham, on behalf of the Australian Capital Territory Government (Chief Minister, Treasury and Economic Development Directorate).

Ministers agreed the next meeting of the LGMF will be held virtually in April 2025.