## Joint Communiqué: Local Government Ministerial Forum #13 April 2024, Brisbane, Queensland

**Publication date: 12 December 2024** 

Local Government Ministers from across Australia met in Brisbane on Friday 12 April 2024 for the Local Government Ministers' Forum (LGMF), to advance intergovernmental cooperation on issues affecting Local Government's across Australia.

The Minister for Regional Development, Local Government and Territories, the Hon Kristy McBain MP, chaired the forum which was hosted by the Queensland Minister for Local Government the Hon Meaghan Scanlon MP.

Ministers discussed the ongoing operation of the LGMF and formalised the forum's terms of reference, operating guidelines and forward work plan for 2024.

Ministers confirmed the strategic priority for the LGMF over the next 12 months will be focused on the financial sustainability of local governments.

Ministers discussed work being undertaken by jurisdictions to advance this priority, including developing a nationally consistent data set for local government financial sustainability, previously agreed by the Forum.

Ministers also received a briefing from the National Transport Research Organisation on their work on climate resilient infrastructure.

The Chair moved a motion to acknowledge the retirement from the South Australian ministry of the Hon Geoff Brock MP and thank him

for the significant contribution he has made in support of the local government sector in South Australia and to the LGMF.

The 13<sup>th</sup> meeting of the LGMF was attended by:

- The Hon Kristy McBain MP Minister for Regional Development, Local Government and Territories.
- Ms Fiona Barbaro on behalf of Mr Andrew Barr MLA Chief Minister, Australian Capital Territory.
- The Hon Ron Hoenig MP Minister for Local Government, New South Wales

- The Hon Chansey Paech MLA Minister for Local Government, Northern Territory.
- The Hon Meaghan Scanlon Minister for Local Government, Queensland.
- Ms Ali King MP, Assistant Minister for Local Government, Queensland.
- The Hon Geoff Brock MP Minister for Local Government, South Australia.
- The Hon Melissa Horne MP Minister for Local Government, Victoria.
- The Hon Hannah Beazley MLA Minister for Local Government, Western Australia.
- Mr Mike Mogridge on behalf of the Hon Nic Street MP, Minister for Local Government, Tasmania.
- Cr Matt Burnett on behalf of Cr Linda Scott, President, Australian Local Government Association.

Ministers agreed the next meeting of the LGMF will be held in November 2024 in Melbourne.