Infrastructure and Regional Development Portfolio Overview

Ministers and portfolio responsibilities

The ministers listed in the Ministers and Portfolio Responsibilities section of the 2015–16 Portfolio Budget Statements (PB Statements) have changed.

The Department is still accountable to the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development, the Hon Warren Truss MP. On 30 September 2015, the Department also became accountable to the Minister for Major Projects, Territories and Local Government, the Hon Paul Fletcher MP and the Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister, the Hon Michael McCormack MP. The Department is no longer accountable to the former Assistant Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development, the Hon Jamie Briggs MP.

Figure 1: Infrastructure and Regional Development portfolio structure and outcomes

Deputy Prime Minister
Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development
The Hon Warren Truss MP

Minister for Major Projects, Territories and Local Government
The Hon Paul Fletcher MP

Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister
The Hon Michael McCormack MP

Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development
Secretary: Mike Mrdak

Outcome 1: Improved infrastructure across Australia through investment in and coordination of transport and other infrastructure.

Outcome 2: An efficient, sustainable, competitive, safe and secure transport system for all transport users through regulation, financial assistance and safety investigations.

Outcome 3: Strengthening the sustainability, capacity and diversity of regional economies including through facilitating local partnerships between all levels of government and local communities; and providing grants and financial assistance.

Outcome 4: Good governance in the Australian territories through the maintenance and improvement of the overarching legislative framework for self-governing territories, and laws and services for non-self-governing territories.

Australian Maritime Safety Authority
Chair: Stuart Richey AM
Chief Executive Officer: Michael Kinley

Outcome 1: Minimise the risk of shipping incidents and pollution in Australian waters through ship safety and environment protection regulation and services and maximise people saved from maritime and aviation incidents through search and rescue coordination.

Australian Transport Safety Bureau
Chief Commissioner: Martin Dolan

Outcome 1: Improved transport safety in Australia including through: independent ‘no blame’ investigation of transport accidents and other safety occurrences; safety data recording, analysis and research; and fostering safety awareness, knowledge and action.

Civil Aviation Safety Authority
Chair: Dr Allan Hawke AC
Director of Aviation Safety: Mark Skidmore AM

Outcome 1: Maximise aviation safety through a regulatory regime, detailed technical material on safety standards, comprehensive aviation industry oversight, risk analysis, industry consultation, education and training.

Infrastructure Australia
Chair: Mark Birrell
Chief Executive Officer: Philip Davies

Outcome 1: Improve decision-making on matters relating to infrastructure; advise governments and others on matters relating to infrastructure, including better assessment of infrastructure needs and prioritisation of infrastructure projects; and promote best practice infrastructure planning, financing, delivery and operation.

National Capital Authority
Chair: Terry Weber
Chief Executive Officer: Malcolm Snow

Outcome 1: Manage the strategic planning, promotion and enhancement of Canberra as the National Capital for all Australians through the development and administration of the National Capital Plan, operation of the National Capital Exhibition, delivery of education and awareness programs and works to enhance the character of the National Capital.

National Transport Commission
Chair: David Anderson PSM
Chief Executive Officer and Commissioner: Paul Retter AM

Outcome 1: Improved transport productivity, efficiency, safety and environmental performance and regulatory efficiency in Australia through developing, monitoring and maintaining nationally consistent regulatory and operational arrangements relating to road, rail and intermodal transport.

Portfolio resources

Table 1 shows for those entities reporting in the PAES the additional resources provided to the portfolio in the 2015-16 Budget year, by entity. Additional appropriation is not being sought for the Australian Transport Safety Bureau (ATSB), Civil Aviation Safety Authority (CASA), Infrastructure Australia (IA) and National Transport Commission (NTC).

Table 1: Portfolio resources 2015–16

Prev. Index Next