Jump to Content

Acronyms and abbreviations

ACC Area Consultative Committee
ACCC Australian Competition & Consumer Commission
ACT Australian Capital Territory
ADRs Australian Design Rules
AFAC Australasian Fire Authorities Council
AFCN Australian Freight Council Network
ALC Australian Logistics Council
ALGA Australian Local Government Association
ALTD Australian Land Transport Development Act
AN Australian National Railways Commission
ANAO Australian National Audit Office
APAC Australasian-Pacific Aeronautical College Incorporated
APEC Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation
APS Australian Public Service
APSC Asia Pacific Space Centre
APTNARC Accessible Public Transport National Advisory Committee
AQUIS Australian Quarantine and Inspection Service
ARFFS Aerodrome Rescue and Firefighting Services
ARG Aviation Reform Group
ASIC Aviation Security Identification Card
AROU Australian Rail Operations Unit
ARTC Australian Rail Track Corporation
AS/NZS Australian Standard/ New Zealand Standard
ASIC Australian Security Identification Card
ASO Australian Security Officer
ATC Australian Transport Council
ATC Air Ttraffic Ccontrol
ATEC Australian Transport & Energy Corridor Ltd
ATSB Australian Transport Safety Bureau
ATSCC Accessible Transport Standards Consultative Committee
AWAs by Australian Workplace Agreements
BSPVES Bass Strait Passenger Vehicle Equalisation Scheme
BTE Bureau of Transport Economics (now the BTRE)
BTRE Bureau of Transport and Regional Economics
CAC Act Commonwealth Authorities and Companies Act 1997
CASA Civil Aviation Safety Authority
CBS Checked Bag Screening
CEI's Chief Executive Instructions
CEO Chief Executive Officer
COAG Council of Australian Governments
CRIS Commonwealth Regional Information Service
DCC Departmental Consultative Committee
DOTARS Department of Transport and Regional Services
DRAP Dairy Regional Assistance Programme
EA Environment Australia
EL Executive Level (officer)
EMP Environmental Management Plan
EPBC Act Environment Protection and Biodiversity Conservation Act 1999
ESD Ecologically Sustainable Development
FMECI Friends of Merri Creek Incorporated
FOI Freedom of Information
FRRR Foundation for Rural and Regional Renewal
GATS General Agreement on Trade in Services
GDP Gross Domestic Production
GET Group Executive Team
GST Goods and Services Tax
ICAO International Civil Aviation Organization
IGA Inter-Governmental Agreement
IHRA International Harmonised Research Activities
ILN Integrated Logistics Network
IMO International Maritime Organization
IOT Indian Ocean Territories
IRPC Immigration Reception and Processing Centre
ISO International Standards Organization
ISPS code International Shipping and Port Security code
JCPAA Joint Committee of Public Accounts and Audit
JWG-T China-Australia Joint Working Group on Transport
KAVHA Kingston and Arthur's Vale Historic Area [Norfolk Island]
MAG More Accessible Government
MEPC Marine Environment Protection Committee
MIFCo Maritime Industry Finance Company Limited
MP Member of Parliament
NAASRA National Association of Australian State Roads Authorities
NAS National Airspace System
Navaids Navigation Aids
NDRA Natural Disaster Relief Arrangements
NDRMSP Natural Disaster Risk Management Studies Programme
NRM NAASRA Roughness Measure
NRTC National Road Transport Commission
NSW New South Wales
NT Northern Territory
NTAC National Transport Advisory Council
NTC National Transport Commission
NTS National Transport Secretariat
OECD Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development
PAES Portfolio Additional Estimates Statements
PBS Portfolio Budget Statements
PMC People Management Committee
PRL Phosphate Resources Limited
PSSA Particularly Sensitive Sea Area
Qld Queensland
RAP Regional Assistance Programme
RASS Remote Air Service Subsidy
RAW Registered Automotive Workshop Scheme
RBDA Regional Business Development Analysis
RFMP Regional Flood Mitigation Programme
RFT Request for Tender
RISs Regulation Impact Statements
RONI Roads of National Importance
RSP Regional Solutions Programme
RTC Rural Transaction Centres
RTC EPOS Rural Transaction Centres Electronic Point of Sale
RTI Regional Telecommunications Inquiry
SA South Australia
SACL Sydney Airport Corporation Limited
SAP SAP Departments financial management system
SARS Sudden Severe Acute-illness Respiratory Syndrome
SBDC Small Business Development Corporation
SCORD Standing Committee on Regional Development
SCOT Standing Committee on Transport
SDAs Service Delivery Arrangements
SES Senior Executive Service
SEVS Specialist and Enthusiast Vehicle Scheme
SITC Strategic Information Technology Committee
SME Small to Medium Enterprise
TAFE Technical and Further Education
Tas Tasmania
TFES Tasmanian Freight Equalisation Scheme
TNIP Transparent Noise Information Package
TSI (CA) Act Transport Safety Investigation (Consequential Amendments) Act 2003
TSI Act Transport Safety Investigation Act 2003
Vic. Victoria
VSSR Vehicle Safety Standards Report
WA Western Australia
WBACC Wreck Bay Aboriginal Community Council
[ Prev. ] [ Index ] [ Next ]