Appendix D : Freedom of information departmental documents

Departmental documents

In accordance with section 8 of the Freedom of Information Act 1982, a list has been compiled of manuals and other documents used by departmental officers when making decisions or recommendations that affect the public. The list, as at 30 June 2001, is available on request from the FOI coordinator or any office of the Australian Archives.

The following categories of documents are held by DOTARS:

  • briefing papers and submissions prepared for Ministers, Parliamentary Secretary, Cabinet and Executive Council
  • documents relating to the development of legislation
  • internal administration documents
  • environmental impact statements
  • codes of practice
  • ministerial responses to parliamentary questions, interdepartmental and general correspondence and papers
  • policy documents, recommendations and decisions
  • program, fund and grant administration papers
  • legal documents, including legislation, contracts, leases and court documents
  • business papers, briefing notes and meeting records for committees and conferences which DOTARS services or in which it participates
  • technical maps, charts, photographs, drawings and specifications, manuals, statistics, databases and geographical information systems
  • registers of documents, approvals, exemptions, permits and licences
  • service delivery arrangements
  • documents prepared by international agencies
  • international treaties, memoranda of understanding and international conventions
  • Standards Australia guidelines for road design, signage and technical benchmarks
  • communiqu├ęs of the Australian Transport Council
  • records of approvals relating to compliance plates and vehicle imports
  • vehicle safety recalls
  • birth, death and marriage records (non-self-governing Territories only)
  • motor vehicle registry records (non-self-governing Territories only).

back to top

Functions and Decision-making Powers

The organisation and functions of DOTARS are described in Part 2 of this report.

Certain officers exercise delegated decision-making powers and advise the Minister on the exercise of powers in relation to the following:

  • the investigation of air safety occurrences and safety deficiencies
  • the investigation of marine incidents
  • air navigation
  • air navigation and fuel spillage
  • aviation security
  • aircraft noise
  • airports
  • airport curfews
  • Australian land transport development
  • motor vehicle standards
  • Commonwealth explosives
  • interstate road transport
  • maritime
  • coastal trade
  • ships capital grants
  • stevedoring levy
  • trade practices, Part X
  • local government
  • self-governing Territories
  • non-self-governing Territories
  • public service employment
  • financial management and accountability
  • archives
  • freedom of information.

back to top

Arrangements for Outside Participation

DOTARS welcomes views and comments from members of the public and bodies outside the Commonwealth on its policy formulation and administration of portfolio legislation. Public consultation is widely practised at varying levels, across many fields of policy and output delivery. Formal participation and consultation are arranged through the following bodies.

back to top


  • Sydney Airport Community Forum
  • Airport Environment Consultative Committees
  • Long-term Operating Plan Implementation Monitoring Committee.

back to top

Australian Transport Safety Bureau

  • International Civil Aviation Organisation
  • Australian Coroners Society Inc.
  • Human Factors Advisory Group
  • Flight Safety Forums
  • The Australian Research Council Key Centre for Human Factors and Applied Cognitive Psychology
  • Nuclear Safety Committee Council
  • International Air Transport Association
  • Australasian Flight Safety Council
  • Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association of Australia
  • Aerial Agricultural Association of Australia Ltd
  • Flag State Implementation Subcommittee of the International Maritime Organisation
  • Marine Accident Investigators International Forum
  • Rail Safety Consultative Forum
  • Austroads Incorporated
  • National Road Safety Strategy Panel
  • Research Coordination Advisory Group
  • Australasia Traffic Policy Forum
  • Committee to Advise on Recall and Safety
  • Motorcycle Safety Consultative Committee
  • Road Safety Black Spot Program Consultative Panels.

back to top


  • Australian Global Navigation Satellite System Coordination Committee
  • National Advisory Facilitation Committee
  • Aviation Working Group
  • International Air Services Conference.

back to top

Cross-Modal and Maritime Transport

  • Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation Transportation Working Group
  • Australia-Indonesia Development Area Transport Working Group
  • Supermarket to Asia Council, Transport and Logistics Working Group
  • Tradegate Electronic Commerce of Australia Logistics Management Working Group
  • Australian Maritime Group
  • The Integrated Logistics Network
  • Australian Freight Council Network.

back to top

Land Transport

  • Austroads Incorporated
  • Rail Group Industry Advisory Committee
  • Technical Liaison Group
  • Australian Motor Vehicle Certification Board
  • Advisory Committee on the Transport of Dangerous Goods
  • Motor Vehicle Environment Committee
  • Vehicle Standards Review Advisory Committee
  • National Road Transport Commission
  • State and Territory road authorities
  • Australian Local Government Association.

back to top

Regional Services, Development and Local Government

  • Commonwealth/State/Local Government Officials Group
  • National Awards for Innovation in Local Governmentjudging panel
  • Development Assessment Forum
  • Rural Transaction Centres Program Advisory Committee
  • Rural Domestic Violence Program Advisory Group
  • Regional Solutions Program Advisory Committee
  • Commonwealth Working Group on Regional Forums
  • Collaboration Across the North Officers Group
  • Steering Committee for a forum in the New England and north-west NSW region
  • Regional Womens Advisory Council
  • Understanding Rural Australia Advisory Committee
  • Prime Ministers Taskforce on Newcastle
  • Eden Region Adjustment Package Advisory Committee
  • South-West Forests Adjustment Package Advisory Committee
  • Commonwealth/State/Local Government Regional Development Task Force
  • Commonwealth/State Planning Officials Group
  • Rural Communities Program Advisory Committee.

back to top

Territories and Regional Support

  • Community Consultative Committees
  • Administrators Advisory Committees
  • Justice Issues Group
  • Wreck Bay Aboriginal Community Council
  • Canberra Region Ministerial Forum
  • Kingston and Arthurs Vale Historic Area Board of Management.

back to top