Australian Government involvement in ICAO groups


Australia has maintained a Permanent Mission to ICAO in Montreal since 1947, and is represented on the Council of ICAO, and in the Air Navigation Commission.

Australia's current Permanent Representative to ICAO, and Representative on the Council, is Mr Samuel Lucas, appointed in 2016.

Australia's current Nominee to the Air Navigation Commission is Mr Andrew Tiede, appointed in 2018.

Officials from a number of Australian Government agencies participate actively in a wide range of ICAO groups, including Panels, Working Groups, Study Groups, and Regional Planning Groups. The Australian Government's involvement spans all of ICAO's five global strategic objectives, including experts from:

  • the Department of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities, on facilitation, environmental, and economic development issues;
  • the Civil Aviation Safety Authority, on aviation safety issues;
  • Airservices Australia, on air traffic management and aviation fire fighting and rescue issues;
  • the Australian Transport Safety Bureau, on accident investigation issues;
  • the Bureau of Meteorology, on meteorological issues;
  • the Australian Maritime Safety Authority, on search and rescue issues;
  • the Department of Home Affairs, on aviation security issues;
  • the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, on passport-related issues; and
  • the Attorney-General's Department, on international legal issues.

For further information on the Australian Government's involvement in ICAO groups, please contact the relevant agency.


Last Updated: 20 December, 2017