Australian Airspace Policy

The Air Traffic Policy Branch within the Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development is a key adviser to Government on airspace and air traffic management policy.

  • The current Australian Airspace Policy Statement came into effect on 13 July 2015.

  • The Common Risk Management Framework provides guidance to Commonwealth aviation agencies in conducting their risk management activities in conformance with current published Australian/New Zealand Standards.

  • Legislation to give effect to the transfer of airspace regulatory function from Airservices to the Civil Aviation Safety Authority was enacted by the Parliament and came into force on 1 July 2007.

  • Useful links to external websites.


Last Updated: 14 July, 2015